The Athenaeum of War
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Where the Hades am I?

Go down

Where the Hades am I? Empty Where the Hades am I?

Post by Guest Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:15 pm

((Okay, so I'm a bit of a noob to role-playing, so I only have my past writing experience to rely on here. Please let me know if there’s too much corniness or melodrama. Also, to avoid confusion, I'll just let you know that right here, Barney has just arrived in the Athenaeum. Before that, he was laying in an infirmary after having been wounded in the Battle Of Stones River, one of the bloodiest battles of the American Civil War. He previously was a flat-out lunatic from the shock, but Dionysus downgraded it to PTSD.))

----

"I will bring you someplace better. A good place. It won't always be safe, but I can promise it will be happier, an improvement upon this nasty bloodbath. Go forward and fight for me."

Barney's eyes shot open, those words resonating in his head. Nothing he saw was familiar...the last thing he remembered was speaking to his mother...no a nurse he realized. He had been laying on the hard ground of the makeshift hospital after a battle, waiting for something, though he couldn't remember what. He'd spoken to the nurse, completely convinced she was his mother tending to the burning wound in his arm.

His wound. He glanced down, and sure enough the pain wasn't lying. The grimy, yellowed bandages on his arm were spotted with dark red stains. 'They were going to cut it off,' he though to himself. That's what he'd been waiting for. Not that that was surprising though. He remembered hastily wrapping it in the shirt of a dead man and leaving it that way for the remaining two days of the battle.